Connect with us

College National Finals Rodeo (CNFR)





CASPER, Wyo. (June 10, 2024) — The first round of competition at the College National Finals Rodeo (CNFR) ended on Monday, June 10, with one athlete rising to the top early in the competition.

One year ago, Wacey Schalla was getting ready for his final trip to the National High School Finals Rodeo. After winning the all-around championship there, Schalla pursued his rodeo goals and started school at Clarendon (Texas) College. The freshman is off to a great start here at the weeklong competition that determines national champions.


Schalla, who is from Arapaho, Oklahoma, won the first round of bull riding with a score of 81 points. He was one of five successful athletes in that event. Schalla also competed in bareback riding and was one of three cowboys at the top of the round with scores of 80.5 points. Joining him in winning the round were his Clarendon College teammate Weston Timberman and Bradlee Miller of Sam Houston State University.

Schalla also competes professionally and is currently ranked fourth in the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association (PRCA) all-around standings and 20th in bull riding. Miller and Timberman are also competing in the PRCA and are ranked  10th and 18th respectively.

Defending CNFR champion barrel racer Taycie Matthews of the University of West Alabama, started her quest for back-to-back titles in Casper on Monday. She was the only one of the field of 45 to clock a time under 14 seconds. Her time of 13.93 seconds won the first round.

Nearly 400 National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association athletes from colleges and universities across the country have gathered in Wyoming for the weeklong event which culminates with the crowning of the 2024 national champions on Saturday June 15.         

All athletes compete in three rounds of competition and the top 12 cumulative scores or times advance to championship Saturday. The second round of competition will finish on Tuesday afternoon. Round three is spread over four rodeo performances beginning Tuesday evening and running through Friday evening.

CASPER, Wyo.—The following are results from the first round of  the College National Finals Rodeo, June 10, 2024, courtesy of the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association. Complete results are available at

Barrel racing: 1, Taycie Matthews, University of West Alabama, 13.93 seconds. 2, Kalli McCall, Hill College, 14.02; 3, Tayla Moeykens, Montana State University, 14.03. 4, Emma Smith, Texas A & M University, 14.04; 5, (tie) Jaylie Matthews, University of West Alabama, and Libby Berger, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, 14.04. 7, Emma Ricke, Northeastern Oklahoma A & M College, 14.21. 8, Weslyn Reno, New Mexico State University, 14.26.

Bareback riding: 1, (tie) Bradlee Miller, Sam Houston State University; Weston Timberman, Clarendon College and Wacey Schalla, Clarendon College, 80.5 points each. 4, (tie) Ty Pope, Missouri Valley College,  and  Coy Montgomery, College of Southern Idaho, 80. 6, Sage Allen, College of Southern Idaho, 79.5. 7, (tie) Gavin French, Texas A & M University; Roedy O. Farrell, Tarleton State University, and Will Norstrom, Western Texas College, 78.

Tie-Down Roping: 1, Brey Yore, South Plains College, 8.6 seconds. 2, (tie) Zane Kilgus, Northeastern Oklahoma A & M College, and Blake Bowler, Southern Utah University, 9.1. 4, Blayne Saine, University of West Alabama, 9.5. 5, Koby Douch, Hill College, 9.6. 6, Riley Webb, Southwest Texas Junior College, 9.8. 7, TJ Bowler, Utah State University, 10.6. 8, Kota Wilhite, University of West Alabama, 10.8.

Breakaway Roping: 1, (tie) Lauren Booty, University of West Alabama, and Taylor Jones, Blue Mountain Community College, 2.1 seconds each. 3, Zoie Bedke, Idaho State University, 2.2. 4, Payton Johnson, Central Arizona College, 2.3. 5, (tie) Fallon Ruffoni, Cuesta College, and Ashley Henderson, University of West Alabama, 2.4. 8, McKenna Clingman, Colorado Mesa University, and Kate Eiland, Pearl River Community College. 

Saddle Bronc Riding: 1, Thayne Elshere, Gillette College, 84.5 points. 2, Talon Elshere, Casper College, 80.5. 3, Zac Dallas, New Mexico State University, 79. 4, Gus Gaillard, Tarleton State University, 78.5 5, Caseyn Pearson, Trinity Valley Community College, 76. 6, (tie) Blake Steuck, Fort Scott Community College, and Eastan West, Casper College, 75.5. 8, Drew Bordelon, McNeese State University, 74.5,

Steer Wrestling: 1, Sam Carson, Utah Valley University, 4.5 seconds. 2, (tie) Christian Cagle, Northwest Mississippi Community College, and David Gallagher, University of Wyoming, 4.7, 4, (tie) Trav Johnson, Montana State University, and Trisyn Kalawai’a, Northwest Oklahoma State University, 4.8. 6, Cam Fox, Northwest Oklahoma State University, 5.0. 7, Austin Madison, Black Hills State University, 5.2. 8, Landris White, Tarleton State University, 5.5.

Bull Riding: (five qualified rides) 1, Wacey Schalla, Clarendon College, 81 points. 2, Lane Vaughn, Western Texas College, 79. 3, Zeke Martinez, Wharton County Junior College, 78.5. Spin’er Burger, Wharton County Junior College, 75. 5, Brad Moreno, New Mexico State University, 71.

Goat Tying: 1, (tie) Rayme Jones, Tarleton State University, and Riata Day, University of Wyoming, 6.1 seconds. 3, Kamryn Duncan, McNeese State University, 6.2. 4, (tie) Tori Brower, Tarleton State University, and Emma Eiguren, Trinity Valley Community College, 6.3. 6, Madalyn Richards, Texas A & M University, 6.4. 7, (tie) Maggie Usher, Cal Poly State University – San Luis Obispo; McKenna Brennan, Panhandle State University; Parker McIntyre, Panhandle State University, and McKenna Clingman, Colorado Mesa University, 6.5.

Team Roping: 1, Lan Fuher, South Dakota State University, and Clayton Backhaus, Black Hills State University, 6.1 seconds. 2, Weston Mills, University of Wyoming, and Coy Johnson, Gillette College, 6.4. 3, (tie) Cooper Pavkov and Luke Murphy, University of Montana, Western;  and Trey Hughes, Angelo State University, and Caden Tinsley, Ranger College, 7.3. 5, Kelon Andrews, Northeast Texas Community College, and Jayden Cisneros, Wharton County Community College, 8.3. 6, (tie) Cooper Andersen and Kass Newman, Central Arizona College; and Tyler Jones, California State University – Fresno, and Tanner Kerr, Feather River College, 8.9. 8, Blake Bowler, Southern Utah University, and TJ Bowler, Utah State University, 9.5.


Advertisement Lainey Wilson Whirlwind

Official Store of Beretta - - Shop Waterfowl Today!

H & H Tires Ad

Tractor Supply

error: Content is protected !!